Section 19. Mathematical Education and Popularization of Mathematics

Range of research and key issues in mathematics education, from elementary school to higher education. Modern developments in effective popularization of mathematics, from publications, to museums, to online communication.
Manjul Bhargava

Princeton, USA

Lecture on the role of mathematics museums

Manjul Bhargava is the Brandon Fradd, Class of 1983, Professor of Mathematics at Princeton University and the Stieltjes Professor of Number Theory at Leiden University.

In 2014, he was awarded the Fields Medal «for developing powerful new methods in the geometry of numbers, which he applied to count rings of small rank and to bound the average rank of elliptic curves».

Clara Grima

University of Seville, Spain

Clara Grima is an Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Seville (Spain). Her research interests are graph theory and computational geometry, with collaborations in cell biology.

Since 2010 she has been intensely dedicated to the dissemination of mathematics in Spanish. She has received the most important awards for dissemination in her country, Spain. Clara is convinced that everybody likes math although perhaps somebody does not know it, yet.

Anna Sfard

University of Haifa, Israel

Anna Sfard developed a theoretical framework of mathematical thinking known as commognitive.

This theory, grounded in the assumption that mathematics is a special form of communication, or a discourse, has been used in studying the development and role of mathematical discourses in individual lives and in the course of history.

The results of this research have been summarized in her 2008 book, Thinking as communicating, and in tens of articles and book chapters.

Currently Professor Emerita at the University of Haifa, Israel, Sfard served as the first Lappan-Philips-Fitzgerald Professor at Michigan State University and as Professor of Mathematics Education in the Institute of Education, University College of London. She is a recipient of the 2007 Freudenthal Award, a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and a member of the American National Academy of Education (NAEd).

Tue Oct 05 2021 16:09:59 GMT+0300 (Moscow Standard Time)