IMU Prizes

The announcements and prize ceremonies for the IMU Awards, Prizes, and Special Lecture form a very important part of an ICM program. In particular the Fields medals, which recognize outstanding mathematical achievement, and are considered by many to be the highest honors in mathematics and the very first IMU Abacus Medal, honoring groundbreaking contributions in scientific computing and mathematical aspects of computer science, will be awarded at the ICM Opening Ceremony. Of no lesser importance are the Gauss Prize, Chern Medal, Leelavati Prize, and the Emmy Noether Lecture.

Fields medal
Recognizes outstanding mathematical achievement, it was first awarded in 1936. Chair of the 2022 Prize Selection Committee: Carlos E. Kenig
Abacus medal
Honors distinguished achievements in mathematical aspects of information science, it will be awarded for the first time in 2022. It replaces the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize which was awarded from 1982 to 2018. Chair of the 2022 Prize Selection Committee: James Demmel
Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize
Is awarded for outstanding mathematical contributions that have found significant applications outside of mathematics, it was awarded first in 2006. Chair of the 2022 Prize Selection Committee: Eva Tardos
Chern Medal Award
Is awarded to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics, it was awarded for the first time in 2010. Chair of the 2022 Prize Selection Committee: Yakov Eliashberg
Leelavati prize
Recognizes outstanding public outreach work for mathematics. The IMU awards the Prize since 2010. Since 2014 this Prize is sponsored by Infosys. Chair of the 2022 Prize Selection Committee: Pavel Etingof
ICM Emmy Noether Lecture
Honors women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences, it was presented for the first time in 1994. Chair of the 2022 ICM Emmy Noether Lecture Committee: Sylvia Serfaty chair@noether22.mathunion
Cookie files
Yandex uses cookies to personalize its services. By continuing to use this site, you agree to this cookie usage. You can learn more about cookies and how your data is processed in the Privacy Policy.
Thu Apr 15 2021 18:18:33 GMT+0300 (Moscow Standard Time)