The list of plenary speakers of the International Congress of Mathematicians 2022 has been announced

28 May 2021, 10:05

In 2022, the International Congress of Mathematicians — the most important meeting of the world's mathematical community — will take place in St. Petersburg. The main part of the scientific program of the congress is plenary talks. These are hour-long lectures given by world-famous mathematicians. The program committee (whose composition is kept a secret until the opening ceremony) has selected the plenary speakers, who all have accepted invitations to speak at the ICM 2022. Their names are published on the Congress website. The plenary speakers comprise 21 of the world's leading mathematicians, representing 10 countries and all areas of mathematics.

Michel Van den Bergh is a Belgian mathematician and professor at the Free University of Brussels and Hasselt University. He studies the relationship between geometry and algebra. From the beginning of his career, Van den Bergh has been working on non-commutative geometry, a geometric approach to non-commutative algebras.

Mladen Bestvina is an American mathematician with Croatian roots, professor at the University of Utah. Bestvina is working in geometric group theory. His outstanding mathematical career began at school — he won the International Mathematical Olympiad three times. In 2002, he gave a talk at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Beijing.

Bhargav Bhatt is an Indian-American mathematician and professor at the University of Michigan. Bhatt is specializing in arithmetic algebraic geometry, number theory, commutative algebra, and homotopy theory. In 2021, he won the prestigious New Horizons in Mathematics Prize “For outstanding work in commutative algebra and arithmetic algebraic geometry, particularly on the development of p-adic cohomology theories.”

Kevin Buzzard is a British mathematician, professor at Imperial College London, an expert in algebraic number theory. Buzzard won prizes at the International Mathematical Olympiad twice. He got the Whitehead Prize in 2002 and the Berwick Prize in 2008 for his brilliant work in number theory. Now Buzzard is figuring out whether it is possible to “teach” mathematics to a computer so that it helps to prove mathematical theorems or even does it on its own.

Frank Calegari is an American mathematician with Australian roots and а professor at the University of Chicago. Calegari became a medalist of the International Mathematical Olympiad twice. Professor Calegari specializes in algebraic number theory and deals with arithmetic in the theory of modular forms.

Tobias Сolding is an American mathematician of Danish origin, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, studying geometric analysis and low-dimensional topology. Colding won the 2010 Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry for his research on minimal surfaces.

Weinan E is a Chinese-American mathematician, professor at Princeton University, an expert in machine learning. The professor's research is applied in chemistry, materials science, hydrodynamics. Weinan E spoke at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Beijing in 2002.

Craig Gentry is an American mathematician who created the Gentry's encryption scheme, the first fully homomorphic cryptosystem. He formulated it in his doctoral dissertation and was awarded the prize of the Association for Computing Machinery. Gentry also won a 2014 MacArthur Fellowship, known as the “Genius Grant.”

Alice Guionnet is a French mathematician who specializes in probability theory and random matrix theory. Guionnet got the Loewe Prize in 2009, and the European Academy of Science's Blaise Pascal Medal in 2018.

Larry Guth is an American mathematician, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, an expert in Fourier analysis. In 2013, he won the Salem Prize for his contributions to geometry and combinatorics, in 2015 — the Clay Mathematical Institute's Research Prize, and in 2020 he took the first Maryam Mirzakhani prize.

Svetlana Jitomirskaya is an American mathematician, who was born in Kharkiv. She defended her Ph.D. thesis in her alma mater — Lomonosov Moscow State University — under the supervision of Yakov Sinai, who became the winner of the Abel Prize in 2014. Now Svetlana Jitomirskaya is a professor at the University of California, Irvine. She is studying the spectrum of quasiperiodic Schrödinger equations. She spoke at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 2002 and at the International Congress on Mathematical Physics twice.

David Kazhdan is an Israeli mathematician born in Moscow, professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Harvard University. He published his first scientific article while at school, defended his Ph.D. thesis at the Lomonosov Moscow State University before the appointed time. Kazhdan is rightfully considered one of the best scientists of Gelfand's mathematical school. he is 2012 Israel Prize in Mathematics and 2020 Shaw Prize winner.

Igor Krichever is a Russian and American mathematician, professor of Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology, a leading researcher at the L.D. Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics of Russian Academy of Sciences, professor of the Higher School of Economics and Columbia University. Krichever is studying algebraic geometry and mathematical physics.

Alexander Kuznetsov is a Russian mathematician, a leading researcher at the Steklov Mathematical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences. He works in algebraic geometry and derived categories of coherent sheaves. In 2008, Kuznetsov became a laureate of the European Mathematical Society Prize. He made a speech at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Seoul in 2014.

Camillo De Lellis is an Italian mathematician specializing in the calculus of variations, geometric measure theory and hydrodynamics. De Lellis won the 2013 Fermat Prize. In 2010, he gave a talk in one of the sections of the International Mathematical Congress.

Frans Pretorius is a South African physicist specializing in general relativity. Pretorius numerically investigated the collision of black holes. In 2017 he was awarded the New Horizons in Physics Prize for the first computer code that can simulate spiral movement and fusion of two black holes.

Laure Saint-Raymond is a French mathematician who studies nonlinear differential equations. Saint-Raymond is known for her research of relationships between systems of interacting particles, the Boltzmann equation and fluid mechanics. In 2008, she received the prize from the European Mathematical Society, in 2015 — the Fermat Prize, in 2020 — the Bocher Prize.

Scott Sheffield is an American mathematician and professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Sheffield is interested in probability theory, game theory and mathematical physics. In 2017, Sheffield received the Clay Mathematical Institute's Research Prize, in 2011 — the Loève Prize.

Kannan Soundararajan is an Indian-American mathematician and professor at Stanford University. Soundararajan is an expert in analytical number theory. For his contribution to the study of Dirichlet L-functions, the scientist received the Salem Prize in 2003, and in 2011 he won the Ostrovsky Prize.

Catharina Stroppel is a German mathematician and professor at the University of Bonn. She is working in Lie theory and representation theory. In 2017, Stroppel got the Whitehead Prize.

Umesh Vazirani is an Indian-American mathematician, professor at the University of California, an expert in quantum computing, one of the founders of quantum computing. He received the Fulkerson Prize for improving the approximation ratio for graph separators and related problems in 2012.