8th European Congress of Mathematics started in Portorož

21 June, 17:01

8th European Congress of Mathematics has officially started with the Opening Ceremony at the Congress centre Bernardin. The ceremony was also streamed online for those who could not attend in person. Although postponed due to pandemics, this year“s event is the largest ECM with 1766 registered participants from 77 countries.

The opening ceremony started with the welcome speeches by the President of the Republic of Slovenia Borut Pahor and President of the European Mathematical Association Professor Volker Mehrmann.

‘The 8th European Congress of Mathematics is an opportunity to promote international scientific cooperation and strengthen ties between scientists around the world. I am sorry that it must be held remotely as is usual these days, but I am certainly grateful to the European Mathematical Society for choosing Slovenia. I think that these are very good reasons for this. Slovenia takes pride in its many programs producing excellent mathematicians, in particular young math enthusiasts. Although the congress is being held virtually, do not hesitate to visit Slovenia. The organisers of this congress have told me that, based on mathematical models, it can be calculated that Slovenia will most probably not host another congress for the next 400 years’, said. Borut Pahor.

Klavdija Kutnar, Rector of the University of Primorska and 8ECM Organizing Committee Deputy Chair, is welcoming the live and online ECM participants
Klavdija Kutnar, Rector of the University of Primorska and 8ECM Organizing Committee Deputy Chair, is welcoming the live and online ECM participants

Traditionally, during ECM, the European Mathematical Society awards 10 EMS Prizes, the Felix Klein Prize, and the Otto Neugebauer Prize. All prize winners are usually announced at the Opening Ceremony at the beginning of the congress. Unfortunately, in 2020 the tradition calls for an alternative. Nevertheless, the Committee Chairs honored all the winners of 2020. All prize lectures will take place from 20 to 26 June.

The 10 EMS Prizes are awarded ‘to young researchers not older than 35 years, of European nationality or working in Europe, in recognition of excellent contributions in mathematics. The EMS prize winners for 2020 are Karim Adiprasito, Alexander Efimov (a Senior Researcher at the Algebraic Geometry Section of Steklov Mathematical Institute of RAS), Simion Filip, Alexandr Logunov, Kaisa Matomäki Phan Thành Nam, Joaquim Serra, Jack Thorne, and Maryna Viazovska.

ICM Organizer Ari Laptev is introducing ECM Plenary speaker Umberto Zannier
ICM Organizer Ari Laptev is introducing ECM Plenary speaker Umberto Zannier

The Felix Klein Prize is awarded ‘to a scientist, or a group of at most three scientists, under the age of 38 for using sophisticated methods to give an outstanding solution, which meets with the complete satisfaction of industry, to a concrete and difficult industrial problem. This year‘s prize winner is Arnulf Jentzen, a full professor in the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Sciences at the University of Münster (WWU) and a member of the Cluster of Excellence ‘Mathematics Münster’ at the University of Münster.

The Otto Neugebauer Prize is awarded ‘for highly original and influential work in the field of history of mathematics that enhances our understanding of either the development of mathematics or a particular mathematical subject in any period and in any geographical region.’ The 2020 Otto Neugebauer Prize winner is Karine Chemla, a Senior Researcher at the Centre National de la recherche scientifique (CNRS).

Volunteers at the welcome reception
Volunteers at the welcome reception